Poetry: To Watch The Seasons

It’s after 3am and I’m up thinking about you
About how we met and how I got to be with you
I smile at the memories we’ve made
And how much time has passed

Somehow in all those memories
I feel an emptiness
One I can’t describe
I don’t know what to do
To leave or be with you

I’m afraid I’ll be unkind
If I tell you how I truly feel
But these past few days have been hard
And lately all I want to do
Is not to be with you

It’s like I’m losing myself to have you
Like each time I hold your hand
I let mine go
Each time I look into your eyes
I lose a part of me

I can’t describe what I feel
And I know this will hurt your heart
But maybe I need to be free,
To finally let you go
Maybe I’ll find some happiness
But I know if I never try I will never know

I wish I could be there for you
To watch the seasons as we grow old together
To make a century of memories
But I don’t want to be eternally unhappy
I wish I could stay
But I believe this is the best way

By Phebe Otchere

Leave a comment